This is the seventh and final edition of Breeders’ Cup “what if” dream races, as researched and prepared by Patrick M. Premo. Patrick is an avid racing fan with a special interest in the history of the sport. In his former day job, Patrick spent 37 years as an accounting professor at St. Bonaventure University–a fine school academically, south of Buffalo, New York near the Pennsylvania border–before retiring three years ago.

Patrick has selected 20 horses per Breeders’ Cup race and has used the rule that no horse can be entered in more than one race (Secretariat, for instance, would be in the Breeders’ Cup Classic rather than the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile, even though he was American Horse of the Year as both a 2-year-old and 3-year-0ld). Other than that, any racehorse in history could qualify and the objective is to seed the field with the best 20 horses that meet the conditions. Each entrant selected is listed by the year that he or she was foaled and in what nation he/she did most of its racing.

Today’s races are Breeders’ Cup Turf and the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

Breeders’ Cup Turf

1862 Gladiateur FRA
1881 St. Simon ENG
1883 Ormonde ENG
1885 Carbine AUS
1903 Prestige FRA
1913 Hurry On ENG
1915 Gloaming NZL
1926 Phar Lap AUS
1930 Hyperion ENG
1931 Brantome FRA
1932 Bahram ENG
1952 Ribot ITA
1954 Round Table USA
1962 Sea-Bird FRA
1967 Nijinsky II IRE
1968 Mill Reef ENG
1975 John Henry USA
1976 Kingston Town AUS
1983 Manila USA
2002 Deep Impact JPN

Breeders’ Cup Classic

1878 Hindoo USA
1891 Henry of Navarre USA
1902 Sysonby USA
1917 Man O’ War USA
1934 War Admiral USA
1940 Count Fleet USA
1945 Citation USA
1950 Native Dancer USA
1963 Buckpasser USA
1964 Damascus USA
1970 Secretariat USA
1974 Seattle Slew USA
1975 Affirmed USA
1976 Spectacular Bid USA
1986 Sunday Silence USA
1990 Cigar USA
1996 Dubai Millennium DUB
1997 Tiznow USA
2002 Invasor USA
2004 Curlin USA

Copyright © 2011 Horse Racing Business