This is the second edition of Breeders’ Cup “what if” dream races, as researched and prepared by Patrick M. Premo. Patrick is an avid racing fan with a special interest in the history of the sport. In his former day job, Patrick spent 37 years as an accounting professor at St. Bonaventure University–a fine school academically, south of Buffalo, New York near the Pennsylvania border–before retiring three years ago.

Patrick has selected 20 horses per Breeders’ Cup race and has used the rule that no horse can be entered in more than one race (Secretariat, for instance, would be in the Breeders’ Cup Classic rather than the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile, even though he was American Horse of the Year as both a 2-year-old and 3-year-0ld). Other than that, any racehorse in history could qualify and the objective is to seed the field with the best 20 horses that meet the conditions. Each entrant selected is listed by the year that he or she was foaled and in what nation he/she did most of its racing.

Today’s races are Juvenile Colts and Geldings and Juvenile Fillies, on turf. An outstanding 3-year-old (or older) horse that developed late and was not an outstanding 2-year-old would not qualify for the Breeders’ Cup 2-year-old races. In other words, each racehorse was evaluated for a specific race rather than over his or her entire career.

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Colts and Geldings, Turf

1883 The Bard ENG
1887 Titan AUS
1904 Polar Star ENG
1906 Bayardo ENG
1911 The Tetrarch ENG
1917 Tetratema ENG
1925 Mollison AUS
1942 Dante ENG
1944 Temeraire AUS
1949 Windy City IRE
1954 Todman AUS
1960 Pago Pago AUS
1965 Sir Ivor IRE
1968 My Swallow FRA
1989 Arazi FRA
1992 Celtic Swing ENG
1995 Xaar ENG
1999 Johannesburg ENG
2001 Dance Hero AUS
2005 New Approach IRE

Juvenile Fillies, Turf

1878 Thebais ENG
1915 Fifenella ENG
1919 Golden Corn ENG
1922 Saucy Sue ENG
1930 Myrobella ENG
1939 Sun Chariot ENG
1940 Lady Sybil ENG
1949 Zabara ENG
1953 Star of India ENG
1955 Texana FRA
1959 La Tendresse IRE
1960 Hula Dancer FRA
1960 Noblesse IRE
1963 Storm Queen AUS
1968 Cawston’s Pride ENG
1973 Toy Show AUS
1983 Bounding Away AUS
2003 Miss Finland AUS
2003 Rumplestiltskin IRE
2006 Rainbow View ENG

Copyright © 2010 Horse Racing Business